Tags

, , , ,

Butternut Squash Bisque

Yipee! I have another successful soup recipe under my belt! I’m not a huge soup person – it’s never something I get cravings for. But I’m starting to think that maybe I just really like smooth, blended soups. I loved my Chioggia Beet Borscht, and now I love this Butternut Squash Bisque.

I had two butternut squash sitting on my counter for the last few weeks. I initially wanted to bake something with them (I was considering an old-fashioned butternut squash pie – like a pumpkin pie, but not), but then I decided that I should probably eat healthier πŸ™‚ Kirk and I have been eating a lot of greens the last few days, and when I got home from work tonight I just didn’t like the idea of having yet more greens for dinner. I looked over at the counter, saw the squash, and decided on soup.

I saw this recipe in a book I picked up a Bookmans last night, “Dishing Up Vermont” by Tracey Medeiros. It stuck in my mind, and is the main reason why I looked at my squash and decided on soup. The ingredients are simple, and together they create an incredibly flavorful soup. I couldn’t believe how creamy it was given that it doesn’t actually have that much cream in it. Overall, I am very pleased. Kirk didn’t want soup tonight (he took one for the team and sauteed more greens for his dinner), but I’m hoping he’ll try it tomorrow and like it πŸ™‚

In other news, I have some other projects (in addition to cooking) that I am starting to get into. Once I’ve done a little more with them, I’ll definitely share more info. I will tell you this, though: it involves using my shiny new jigsaw!

Butternut Squash Bisque (modified from Dishing Up Vermont)

Butternut Squash Bisque

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of Vegetable Broth
  • 2lbs Butternut Squash (this could be one large squash, or two small squash. I had two small squash, and they actually weighed about 1.85lbs)
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted Butter
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh Ginger
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh Garlic
  • 1/4 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 tsp Nutmeg
  • Pepper (to taste)
  • Minced Chives (to garnish)

Directions

Butternut Squash Bisque

  • Slice the tops off the squash. Halve them lengthwise, ad scoop out and discard the seeds. Peel the squash with a vegetable peeler. Cut the peeled squash into 1-inch pieces.
  • Place the squash, broth, salt, and 1 Tbsp butter in a soup-pot. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat and cook until squash is fork tender, about 15 minutes. about 5 minutes before the squash is done, toss in the ginger and garlic.
  • Working in batches (or using an immersion blender) puree the soup in a blender. If you use a blender, be careful to allow the steam to escape while blending – you don’t want to create a kitchen mess when the steam builds up and blows the top of the blender off πŸ™‚
  • Transfer the puree back to your pot. Add the remaining two Tbsp butter and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes, stirring to combine the butter. Slowly whisk in the cream and nutmeg and heat through.
  • Add pepper to taste, and garnish with chives (if you want to…).

Butternut Squash Bisque

